Home MLB Midsummer Classic Monday 2016

Midsummer Classic Monday 2016


Mlb-asg-2016.svg87th Major League Baseball All-Star Game

Tuesday, July 12, 2016, 8 PM ET

Petco Park, San Diego, CA

TV: Fox

Tonight it’s the Home Run Derby, tomorrow it’s the All-Star Game. Every baseball fan’s favorite week of the season is here and tonight the All-Star festivities will continue with the T-Mobile Home Run Derby at 8 PM ET. Continuing the new format that was introduced last season, the Derby will be bracket style and feature four one-on-one match-ups, each competing All-Star will have a set number of minutes to slug as many moonshots as he can as averse to the old system of making 10 outs. The winner of each match-up will advance until a winner is ultimately crowned. The match-ups are:

tmobileBaltimore’s Mark Trumbo (28) vs the Dodgers’ Corey Seager (17), Seattle’s Robinson Cano (21) vs Miami’s Giancarlo Stanton (20), Cincinnati’s Adam Duvall (23) vs San Diego’s Wil Myers (19) and the White Sox’ Todd Frazier (25) vs Colorado’s Carlos Gonzalez (19).

The House that Gwynn built is considered to be one of the most pitcher-friendly stadiums in the game, it will be interesting to see how the sluggers fair tonight. To participate in MLB.com’s Home Run Derby Bracket Challenge, go here: https://securea.mlb.com/mlb/events/all_star/y2016/home_run_derby/challenge/

Tuesday’s game will be an interesting one in one particular sense. The National League also hosted last year’s event, meaning this year is the AL’s turn to host. Baltimore’s Camden Yards was originally tabbed to receive the event, but since Petco Park has never hosted the game, the MLB owners group awarded San Diego the game. It is the first time since 2006-2007 that one league has hosted the Midsummer Classic two consecutive years (Pittsburgh and San Francisco). Since this year is the AL’s turn, the Junior Circuit will be the home team and don white jerseys in the game despite it being a National League ballpark. The starting lineups for both leagues are as follows.

AL: Manager- Ned Yost- Royals

  1. Jose Altuve- Astros- 2B
  2. Mike Trout- Angels- CF
  3. Manny Machado- Orioles- 3B
  4. David Ortiz- Red Sox- DH
  5. Xander Bogaerts- Red Sox- SS
  6. Eric Hosmer- Royals- 1B
  7. Mookie Betts- Red Sox- RF
  8. Salvador Perez- Royals- C
  9. Jackie Bradley Jr., Red Sox- CF


NL: Manager- Terry Collins- Mets

  1. Ben Zobrist- Cubs- 2B
  2. Bryce Harper- Nationals- RF
  3. Kris Bryant- Cubs- 3B
  4. Wil Myers- Padres- DH
  5. Buster Posey- Giants- C
  6. Anthony Rizzo- Cubs- 1B
  7. Marcel Ozuna- Marlins- CF (replacing Yoenis Cespedes)
  8. Carlos Gonzalez- Rockies- LF (replacing Dexter Fowler)
  9. Addison Russell- Cubs- SS

The starting pitchers for the game have also been announced. Ned Yost has given the nod to White Sox ace southpaw Chris Sale (14-3, 3.38 ERA), Terry Collins will counter with San Francisco’s Johnny Cueto (13-1, 2.47 ERA). Both pitchers are very deserving of the honor. Also, props to Collins for making Wil Myers his starting DH and giving the San Diego crowd something to cheer for.

34 first time All-Stars will compete tomorrow. The game is sure to be a good one, don’t miss it!

Matthew Morris



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here