Home Other Local Colleges Athletic And Academic Achievements Honored At Purple Eagle Awards Show

Athletic And Academic Achievements Honored At Purple Eagle Awards Show


NIAGARA FALLS, N.Y. – The Niagara University Department of Athletics staff, coaches and student-athletes hosted the fifth annual Purple Eagle Awards Show on Monday evening at the Rapids Theatre in Niagara Falls, New York.
The event combines the traditional student-athlete banquet with an ESPY-style format where student-athletes receive accolades for their performances during the season.
The hosts for the evening were Maggie McIntyre (Women’s Basketball) and Matt Zaremba (Baseball). The duo was joined by a variety of student-athletes, administrators, and staff to help deliver 23 awards during the evening’s festivities.
Men’s hockey head coach Jason Lammers received the first award of the evening, taking home Coach of the Year following the team’s unprecedented run to the Atlantic Hockey championship game. Director of Athletics Simon Gray handed out the final award of the evening, the “Believe NU Award,” Marvin Prochet of men’s basketball for being a model student-athlete, always maintaining a positive attitude, and for being a great teammate and leader during his time as a Purple Eagle.
The complete list of award winners is below:
Coach of the Year – Jason Lammers (men’s hockey)
St. Vincent Award – Anna Donnelly (women’s lacrosse)
Best Play of the Year – Sydney Shaw’s first career hole-in-one.
Female Scholar Athlete Award – Morgan Palmer (women’s track and field)

Male Scholar Athlete Award – Daniel Ronen (men’s swimming and diving)
Female Team with Highest GPA – Women’s Golf
Male Team with Highest GPA – Men’s Cross Country

Female Newcomer of the Year – Annie Ibey (women’s soccer)

Male Newcomer of the Year – Ludwig Stenlund (men’s hockey)
Team of the Year – Men’s Hockey
Individual Performance of the Year – Jai Moore’s 31-point outing against Colgate.
Most Improved Performance (Women) – Maggie McIntyre (women’s basketball)

Most Improved Performance (Men) – Marvin Prochet (men’s basketball)
Purple Pride (Women) – Emillie Wright (women’s volleyball)
Purple Pride (Men) – Joseph Tricarico (men’s cross country)
Comeback Athlete of the Year – Matthew Brash (baseball)
Unsung Hero – Chris Barton (men’s basketball); Joey Battaglia (baseball); Brent Boleslav (men’s tennis); Olga Donchu (women’s tennis); Tyler Edholm (men’s golf); Drew Francisco (men’s soccer); Drew Francisco (men’s soccer); Amelia Gulley (women’s soccer); Emily Johnston (softball); Daniel Leskowicz (men’s swimming and diving); Annina Marullo (women’s cross country); Lauren McGrath (women’s track and field); Amy McNally (women’s lacrosse); Lauren Nicastro (women’s swimming and diving); Jaycie Roberts (women’s volleyball); Justin Sagasta (men’s cross country); Sydney Shaw (women’s golf); Jordan Wishman (men’s hockey)
Upset Of the Year – Men’s basketball defeating Pittsburgh on December 3.
Best Moment in NU Athletics – Men’s hockey beating RIT in overtime of the Atlantic Hockey semifinal.
Community Team of the Year – Women’s lacrosse
Best Team Player (Women) – Sierra Bertrand (softball)

Best Team Player (Men) – Nick Farmer (men’s hockey)
Athletes 4 Athletes – Women’s volleyball
Purple Eagle Award – Kyle Barker (athletic communications, director of Uncommon)
Comeback Win of the Year – Women’s lacrosse over Quinnipiac on April 6.
Taps Gallagher Award – Jordan Acevedo (men’s soccer); Matt Brash (baseball); Aubrey DeVeau (women’s lacrosse); Julia Freemire (women’s cross country); Rachel Funk (softball); Maggie Gerard (women’s track and field); Sarah Godfrey (women’s golf); Tuesday Jordan (women’s soccer); Edgar Melchor (men’s swimming and diving); Ryan Mihok (men’s golf); Joe O’Brien (men’s hockey); Andreea Peteu (women’s tennis); Dominic Robb (men’s basketball); Joseph Tricarico (men’s cross country); Claire Wanzer (women’s basketball); Sarah Webber (women’s swimming and diving); Lukas Wenninger (men’s tennis); Emillie Wright (women’s volleyball)
Men’s Purple Heart Award – Lukas Wenninger (men’s tennis)
Women’s Purple Heart Award – Morgan Genovese (softball)
Vincent O’Malley Female Student-Athlete of the Year – Rachel MacCheyne (women’s lacrosse)

Vincent O’Malley Male Student-Athlete of the Year – Ludwig Stenlund (men’s hockey)
Believe NU Award – Marvin Prochet (men’s basketball)

Additionally, all senior student-athletes were presented with Purple N plaques to honor their careers at Niagara.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here